Define ‘Normal’

photo from writingprompts.tumbler.com

I believe that I am normal. But when I think about it the second time around, I doubt if I am.

Is anyone really normal? How do we know if someone is normal?

I think it all depends on a person’s impression of what ‘normal’ is. For me, being normal is waking up at 5:30 a.m. and arriving in the office at 8 a.m. during weekdays and staying in bed until 8 a.m. on weekends, while it will never be normal for a person working in the night shift. Singing at the top of my lungs in the shower is normal for me when it can be annoying to somebody else. I love reading novels but my bosses prefer newspapers.

One person that I would consider to be normal: Jennifer Lawrence. She’s popular but her actions are pretty casual. She speaks what’s on her mind, talks like a common person, makes faces in front of the crowd, doing her best to earn a living, competitive (an Oscar at 23!). She is the very notion of ‘normal’ for me.

Symbiosis. I believe that every single person is essential in making the world go ’round and I don’t think it’s okay for a person not to fit into what society labels as normal.

I know I am crazy but I am normal. Just take a look at one of my Facebook posts back in 2013.
Leave a Reply

